Made to be Damned

This should save me some repetition.

So…

  1. Do you believe in god?
  2. Do you believe your god is all knowing?
  3. Do you believe your god is all powerful?
  4. Do you believe your god is good and just?
  5. Do you believe your god is the creator?

If the answer to these is yes, as it for most Christians, consider this.

IF we presume, for a moment, that your god exists:

  1. It created me (creator).
  2. With perfect foreknowledge of everything I would ever do, think, feel or know (all knowing).
  3. It knew I would be an atheist and had the means to provide me with the evidence I would require to believe in it (all knowing, all powerful).
  4. This deity then withholds said evidence, thereby condemning me of its own volition – nothing to do with me – to a hell of its own making.

Good?

Just?

I think not.

2 responses to “Made to be Damned

  1. And when Paul describes a similar scenario in Romans 9, and asks the rhetorical question, “Then why does God still blame us? For who is able to resist his will?” (verse 19), Paul answers, “But who are you, a human being, to talk back to God? ‘Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’ Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for special purposes and some for common use?” In other words, “Shut up! The Dear Leader has spoken!” Christopher Hitchens wasn’t exaggerating when he described faith as “a celestial North Korea.”

Leave a Reply

