Ever wish you were religious?

Sometimes it’s tempting to wish that I was. That level of absolute certainty about things is seductive, as is the idea of having all the answers without having to work for them. If I lived in the US I imagine there’d be a lot more social pressure brought to bear as well which might make it a lot easier with family and friends if one were religious. I don’t though and there’s no such pressure this side of the pond.

Alluring as all that is no… I definitely prefer the universe as it is, rather than as we might wish it would be. I place truth higher than comfort or safety and I think religion is a defiance or perversion of man’s natural curiosity. It makes us settle, stop questioning and because it is founded on nothing but blind belief and the authority of its interpreters there can be no negotiated middle ground between opposing faiths.

The sheer amount of harm religion causes isn’t worth the tiny amount of good it does – which can be accomplished by other means.

So no, other than in very rare moments of weakness I don’t wish I were religious and even in those moments, I’m not really tempted at all.

Leave a Reply

